Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Science & Entertainment Exchange (The Exchange) is grateful to its advisory board members for their commitment to fostering successful collaborations between the science community and the entertainment industry. Special thanks go to Janet and Jerry Zucker, vice-chairs of the advisory board and active partners in the work of The Exchange.

Marcia McNutt, Chair
President, National Academy of Sciences and Chair, National Research Council

Janet Zucker, Vice-Chair

Jerry Zucker, Vice-Chair

Patrick Soon-Shiong, Vice-Chair
Chairman, The Chan Soon-Shiong Family Foundation

Len Amato
President, HBO Films

Paula Apsell
Senior Executive Producer, NOVA; Director, WGBH Science Unit

Dave Bartis

Gregory Benford
Professor of Physics, University of California-Irvine

May Berenbaum
Department Head and Professor of Entomology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Adam Bly
Founder and Publisher, SEED

Clark Bunting
President and General Manager, Discovery Channel

Rick Carter
Production Designer

Steve Chu
Secretary of Energy, U.S. Department of Energy; Former Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Professor of Physics and Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley; 1997 Nobel Prize winner in Physics

Frank Darabont
Writer / Producer / Director

Keith Devlin
Executive Director, Center for the Study of Language and Information, Stanford University; Consulting Professor, Mathematics, Stanford University

Jon Farhat
Director, VFX

Anthony Fauci
Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health

Sid Ganis

Julie Gerberding
President, Merck Vaccines

Neil Gershenfeld
Director, Center for Bits and Atoms, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Sean Gesell
Vice President, Zucker Productions

Ronald Graham
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego; Chief Scientist, California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology

Brian Greene
Professor of Mathematics and Physics, Columbia University

Davis Guggenheim
Director / Producer

Robert M. Hazen
Research Scientist, Carnegie Institution for Science’s Geophysical Laboratory; Clarence Robinson Professor of Earth Science at George Mason University

Dudley Herschbach
Frank B. Baird, Jr. Professor of Science, Harvard University; 1986 Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry

Marshall Herskovitz
Producer / Writer / Director

Marty Kaplan
Norman Lear Chair in Entertainment, Media and Society, University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication; Director, The Norman Lear Center

Lawrence Kasdan
Director / Writer / Producer

Jeffrey Koplan
Vice President for Academic Health Affairs, Woodruff Health Sciences Center, Emory University

Sherry Lansing
Founder, Sherry Lansing Foundation

Leon Lederman
Director Emeritus of Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory; Pritzker Professor of Science at Illinois Institute of Technology; 1988 Nobel Prize winner in Physics

Doug Liman
Producer / Director

Seth MacFarlane
Writer / Actor / Producer

Michael Mann
Writer / Producer / Director

Alex McDowell
Production Designer

Marvin Minsky
Professor of Computer Science and Media Arts and Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Sidney Perkowitz
Charles Howard Candler Professor of Physics, Emory University

Steven Pinker
Johnstone Family Professor of Psychology, Harvard University

Stanley Prusiner
Professor of Neurology and Director of the Institute for Neurodegenerative Diseases, University of California, San Francisco; 1997 Nobel Prize winner in Medicine or Physiology

Rob Reiner
Actor / Producer / Writer / Director

John Rennie
Editorial Director, Science Publishing Group, McGraw-Hill; Former Editor-in-Chief, Scientific American

Jay Roach
Director / Writer / Producer

Bruce Joel Rubin

Barbara Schaal
Spencer T. Olin Professor of Biology, Washington University; Director of the Schaal Lab, Washington University; Vice President, National Academy of Sciences

Tom Schulman

Jeffrey Silver

Anne E. Simon
Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics, University of Maryland at College Park
Alex Singer

Robert Sproull
Vice President and Sun Fellow, Sun Microsystems, Inc. (retired)

John Underkoffler
Co-Founder, Oblong Industries

J. Craig Venter
President, J. Craig Venter Institute

Doron Weber
Vice President, Programs, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation